I watched Fate/Stay Night quite a while back, and I guess I have to admit I was just a wee bit interested in this prequel, since it was the same story all over again: The War for the Holy Grail.
First of all, I have to say that I never expected the anime to impress me more than the original did. I guess it seemed a bit more realistic to me that adults were playing this game, unlike in Fate/Stay wherein majority of the Masters were students. Also, the chain of events in the anime was like a flower from its bloom to its wilting, wherein the story opens up perfectly to the finish.
The animation was superb, I have to admit. The details of the Noble Phantasms were well executed, but I guess I will always like Archer and Rider's best. The Servants and their respective clothing were also drawn quite well, and the details of their weapons leave none to be desired. Just something I noticed: is it just me or did Emiya Kiritsugu and Kotomine Kirei look quite alike? The resemblance was quite striking especially near the end of the series when they dueled.
The characters? I have to say that they were well developed. I never really enjoyed reminiscing parts in an anime, but it worked quite well for this particular one. I guess it was because it gave the story more depth, and you further understood the character (particularly Emiya Kiritsugu). I liked the mix of the servants, and aside from Assasin, I think all the Servants and Masters were given such distinct personalities that you could really see and understand why they took the actions they took as well as their line of thought.
The soundtrack was great, although I prefer the first opening and ending songs. The BGM was also appropriate during the various scenes, like fight scenes and dramatic scenes.
As I said from the start, the story wasn't really that interesting to me since it was the same plot as Fate/Stay Night, but I guess what makes this anime different is that the war was not the focus, but instead the individuals participating in the war. Even without watching Fate/Stay Night this can be watched, although if you watch this first you might be a bit disappointed with the sequel.
/note to self: make reviews immediately after watching the whole season
No comments:
Post a Comment